DIY Whiteboard

IMG_5567

I love whiteboards. They’re incredibly useful for productivity. I use them for things such as to-do lists, idea-mapping, and Calculus homework. Basically, whiteboards are great for visual organization of information.

Unfortunately a 4 x 8 ft whiteboard can run anywhere from $150-500!

But, here’s how to make one for less than $20.

Materials

Total cost: $17.94 plus tax

Tools

  • Measuring Tape
  • Screwdriver
  • Power Drill
  • Level

Step 1 – Get the materials.

I bought a 4 x 8′ Thrifty White Hardboard Panel Board from Home Depot, and had them cut it in half for me at the store so it would fit in my car.

I also bought 3 packs of drywall anchors so I could attach the board to the wall without having to worry about finding studs. If you have a studfinder, you could scratch the drywall anchors and just use screws to attach the whiteboard.

Step 2 – Insert drywall anchors.

Measure out where you’d like the whiteboard to be placed, and insert the drywall anchors into the wall with a screwdriver. With my board cut into two 4 x 4 pieces, I used 6 anchors per piece – three along the top and three along the bottom. If you have a whole 4 x 8 board, you could probably get away with using less anchors. Use a bubble level to make sure the end product is level.

Step 3 – Drill holes in whiteboard.

This is an optional step, but I think the board will look cleaner if you pre-drill holes. I had help from my dad during this step – he held the whiteboard in place as I drilled the holes to make sure they lined up with the anchors.

Step 4 – Attach whiteboard to wall.

Simply attach the screws through your whiteboard into the drywall anchors, and you’re done!

If you’re concerned about having a frame around the whiteboard, you could just buy some moulding and create your own frame. I prefer the frame-less look on mine, especially against the blue background!

Leave a comment